IBC homefiller

Business relations

Ensuring biosafety in research

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) reviews research and teaching activities involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules, infectious agents, biologically derived toxins, or other potentially hazardous biological agents.

The guiding principle of the IBC is to assist faculty, staff and students using potentially hazardous biological agents in performing those activities in ways that eliminate or reduce potential exposure to personnel, students, animals and the environment.

Learn more about the IBC

Forms

Access the IBC application system and get guidance on your submissions.

Learn more

Training

Learn about training requirements, update your record and find related resources.

Learn more

Meetings and Submission Deadlines

Date

Monday, Oct 19, 2015
Monday, Nov 16, 2015
Monday, Dec 21, 2015
Monday, Jan 25, 2016*
Monday, Feb 15, 2016
Monday, Mar 21, 2016
Monday, Apr 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Monday, Jun 20, 2016
Monday, Jul 18, 2016
Monday, Aug 15, 2016
Monday, Sep 19, 2016
Monday, Oct 17, 2016
Monday, Nov 21, 2016
Monday, Dec 19, 2016

Submission Deadline

Wednesday, Sep 30, 2015
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2015
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2015
Wednesday, Jan 06, 2016
Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016
Wednesday, Mar 02, 2016
Wednesday, Mar 30, 2016
Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016
Wednesday, Jun 01, 2016
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016
Wednesday, Jul 27, 2016
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2016
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2016
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2016
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016

* Meeting on 4th Monday due to closure on MLK holiday


News & information

All new and three year renewal IBC applications must be submitted using eProtocol

All protocols (New, Amendments, etc) in preparation (thus a status of "Yet to Submit to the IBC") ​that are older than a year will be deleted.

OVPR launches new site to explore the impact of research on our world:

Inquiry: Exploring university research